Missouri Writers' Guild

Bringing Writers Together

2016 President’s Contest Winners

 Missouri Writers’ Guild is proud to announce the winners of the annual 2016 MWG President’s Contest for works published in 2015.

Many thanks to the sponsors and volunteers who help put this together each year. And to the judges for their many hours of reading and thoughtful analysis of the works submitted.


#1  Walter Williams Major Work Award  

Named in honor of the founder of the Missouri Writers’ Guild. This should be a major work, whether in book form or in some other form of publication, that is worthy of special recognition because of research or the high literary quality involved in its creation.

The award is open to any type of publication or production including fiction, non-fiction, scripts, poetry (poetry collection in book form), books, and anthologies. Self-published books are not allowed in this category.

Sponsor:    Thomas Peters
(The Missouri Center for the Book)
302B Meyer Library
Missouri State University
Springfield, MO 65897-0001

Judge:    Dr. James Denninghoff
Missouri Sinus-Allergy
Columbia, MO 65201

1st Place    H. G. Strattmann
Using Medicine in Science Fiction

2nd Place    Stephanie  Bearce
The Cold War–Top Secret Files of History Series

3rd Place    Mary-Lane Kamberg
Special Ops: Snipers


#2   “Show Me” Your Best Award  

This is an award for a work published in book form; fiction, poetry, or non-fiction. The book must have Missouri incorporated into it, showing the appreciation for the people, land, and culture of the state.  

Sponsor:    Amphorae Press
Kristi Makansi
Lisa Miller
Donna Essner

Judge:    Nina Furstenau
Fayette, MO 65248

1st Place    Larry Wood
A Concise Encyclopedia of the Ozarks

2nd Place    Theresa Hupp
Lead Me Home: Hardship and Hope on the Oregon Trail

3rd Place    B. K. Bradshaw
Crystal Brave: Treasures of the Current


  #3    Juvenile Book     

This award is for a work of fiction, nonfiction, or poetry published in book for. The book must be written for and show appreciation for children—those “pint-sized” beings who are our greatest critics.   

Sponsor:    Rocking Horse Publishing
Robin Tidwell, Publisher

Judge:      Dr. Marilyn Lake

1st Place    B. K. Bradshaw
The Alien Logs of Super Jewels

2nd Place    Jody Feldman
The Gollywhopper Games —Friend or Foe

3rd Place    Mary-Lane Kamberg
Stephen Hawking

Honorable Mention    Stephanie Bearce
The Wild West—Top Secret Files of History Series


  #4    Chapter Anthology  

Sponsor:    Rock Springs Review
Judy Stock, Editor
Boonville, MO 65233

Judge:    Susan E. Satterfield
Longview Community College
Lee’s Summit, MO 64081-2105

1st Place    Marshall Chapter
On the Street Where You Live

2nd Place    Liz Schulte  
Well Versed – Columbia Chapter
Columbia, MO 65205-7628


#5    Magazine Article    

Sponsor    Missouri Life Magazine
Danita Allen Wood, Editor
501 High Street, Ste. A
Boonville, MO 65233-1211

Judge        Matthew Barba
Missouri Press Association
802 Locust Street
Columbia, MO 65201

1st Place    Billie Holladay Skelley
“Talking Pitchers”

2nd Place    Larry Wood
“The Gunfight That Launched An Era”

3rd Place    Sheree K. Nielsen
“How Sweet It Is”


  #6    Newspaper Article

Sponsor    Missouri Press Association
Mark Maassen
Assistant Director
Columbia, MO 65201

Judge        Emily Hendricks-Jenson

1st Place    Sylvia B. Forbes
“A Stitch and a Story”


#7    Column    No eligible entries

Sponsor    Columbia Daily Tribune
Jim Robertson
Managing Editor
Columbia, MO 65201


#8    Short Story    

May be published in a magazine, newspaper, book, or anthology, and be paid in dollars or copies.

Sponsor    SEMO University Press
Dr. Susan Swartwout

Judge        Jessica Conoley
Managing Editor
Whispering Prairie Press

1st Place    Larry Wood
“A Loyal and Estimable Woman”
**There were no other awards


#9    Juvenile Short Work (not a book)    No Entries  

This would include short stories, magazine or newspaper articles, and poetry which could be published in a book or anthology. Should be for children and paid in dollars or copies.  

Sponsor    Boonville Creative Writers
Liz Davis – Facilitator
Boonville, MO 65233


#10    Poem

May be published in a magazine, newspaper, book, or anthology, and be paid in dollars or copies.

Sponsor    Brick Mantel Books, an Imprint of Pen & Publish, Inc.
Jennifer Geist

Judge        Aisha M. Sharif
Longview Community College
500 SW Longview Park Dr.
Lee’s Summit, MO 64081-2105

1st Place     Lee Ann Russell
“The Old Home Place”

2nd Place    Sheree K. Nielsen

3rd Place    Faye Adams
“Southern Summers”

Missouri Writer's Guild © 2017 Frontier Theme