Our Board

The Missouri Writers Guild Board consists of  members of the Missouri Writers Guild.  The officers are the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, with additional positions of Publicity Director, Historian, Directors -at-Large, and Emeritus Officers.  Click here for more information about these positions.

President:  Warren Martin

Warren Martin’s writing is focused on Crime Thrillers, Mysteries, Cold War related genre, and recently started a Children’s book series “Adventures with Pop Pop” based on his experiences with his grandchildren.

Warren Martin served in the Infantry, Military Police and Special Forces during his 21-year career in the United States Army. When Warren retired from the Army he transitioned to business, and years later made another transition to teaching and writing. Warren is originally from New York City and currently resides in St. Louis where he is pursuing writing, research, teaching, and support of fraternal, charitable and other organizations. Warren is currently a member of the St. Louis Writers Guild, St. Louis Sisters in Crime, Military Writers Society of America (MWSA), and President of the St. Louis Publishers Association (SLPA).

Email: President@MissouriWritersGuild.org

Vice President & Secretary:  Amanda Kassner

Amanda Kassner works as a Contract Paralegal for a non-profit hospital, but her real passion is Back Cover Copy Company – her business helping authors finish their manuscript, perfect query letters, and connect with agents. Amanda enjoys assisting her clients accomplish their dreams of publication, whether that’s via eBooks or traditional publishing. She has been a member of the Kansas City Writers Workshop, the Columbia Chapter of the Missouri Writers’ Guild, and served as the Historian of the Springfield Writers Guild in 2018. She also has a copywriting degree from The Blackford Centre in Somerset, England. She also She enjoys writing book reviews for NetGalley, and her current writing projects include a cozy mystery novel starring a paralegal (go figure)! Connect with her at amandakassner.com

Email: VPConf@MissouriWritersGuild.org    Email: Secretary@MissouriWritersGuild.org

Treasurer:  Annie Lisenby

A native of the Missouri Ozarks, Annie Lisenby has traveled the US and overseas. She uses her experiences and adventures to inspire her writing. Having written short stories for “Chicken Soup for the Soul,” Annie also writes novels for young adults and is a regular contributor to Connection Magazine. When not writing, Annie uses her MFA in Theatre to teach at a local community college. She also enjoys reading and hiking through the Ozarks with her husband and two children.

Email: Treasurer@MissouriWritersGuild.org 

Publicity Director:  Angela Yuriko Smith

Angela Yuriko Smith is an American poet, author and co-publisher of Space and Time magazine, a publication that has been printing speculative fiction, art and poetry since 1966. Join our Flash Battle leagues, compete as an Iron Writer and help raise an Exquisite Corpse at SpaceandTime.net.

Angela Yuriko Smith’s work is published in print and online publications, including “Horror Writers Association’s Poetry Showcase” vols. 2-4 and “Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy” anthology.

Her novella, Bitter Suites, is a 2018 Bram Stoker Awards® finalist. Her first collection of poetry, “In Favor of Pain,” was nominated for an 2017 Elgin Award. All her books are available on Amazon. Currently, she publishes Space and Time Magazine, a 52 year old publication dedicated to fantasy, horror and science fiction.

For more information visit SpaceandTimeMagazine.com or AngelaYSmith.com.

Email: PubDirector@MissouriWritersGuild.org

Historian:  Connie Yen

Email: History@MissouriWritersGuild.org

Director -at – Large:  Larry E. Wood

Larry Wood is a retired public school teacher and a freelance writer specializing in the history of Missouri and the Ozarks. He has published nineteen nonfiction books, two historical novels, and about 500 magazine articles and stories. He maintains a blog on regional history at www.ozarks-history.blogspot.com. Wood was named an honorary lifetime member of the Missouri Writers Guild in 2016.



Director -at – Large: Billie Holladay Skelley

Billie Holladay Skelley received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Now retired from working as a cardiovascular-thoracic surgery clinical nurse specialist and nursing educator, she enjoys focusing on her writing. She has written several health-related articles for both professional and lay journals, but her writing crosses several different genres and has appeared in various journals, magazines, and anthologies in print and online—ranging from the American Aviation Historical Society Journal and Proud to Be: Writing by American Warriors to the American Journal of Nursing and Chicken Soup for the Soul. An award-winning author, she also has written eight books for children and teens.  Billie is a Ten Pillar member of the Missouri Writers Guild (MWG), and a current member of the Oklahoma Writers’ Federation, Inc. (OWFI), the Joplin Writers’ Guild (JWG), the Columbia Chapter of the Missouri Writers Guild (CCMWG), Saturday Writers, the Ozarks Writers League (OWL), and the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI). Connect with Billie at www.bhskelley.com.

Director -at – Large:  Jeanne Szarwinski

Jeanne writes under the pen name of  Brice A York. Her website is https://briceayork.com. Having retired from the business world of financial services, she was able to transfer her publication skills to authoring books. She has authored the following: A memoir entitled:  Crayons and the Purgatory Journals. Following with a historical fiction, The Fate of Lady Jane and a connecting documentary, The Odyssey of Flight 809.  Also is a fantasy fiction novel, Sisterhood of the Alligators. Her newest ‘coming of age’ novel is entitled: American Fiddlesticks.

She serves on the Board of Directors, as Director at Large for The Missouri Writers’ Guild. She is first VP on the Executive Board for Welcome Club of St. Louis.  Retired Executive: Fortune 500 company­.

She enjoys and is active on social media, both Twitter and Facebook. With her partner and three cats, she lives in St. Louis. In her spare time, she shops for vintage items and has her own online shop. Coffee lover and a true “Leo.”

President Emeritus         President Emeritus


Robin Tidwell                         George Sirois